Wednesday, May 29, 2013

Hansen Wins Best of Show at Michiana Annual Arts Competition

The Box Factory for the Arts, 1101 Broad St., St. Joseph, Mich., announces the winners of the 11th annual Michiana Annual Arts Competition (MAAC). Awards will be presented at 5:30 p.m. to the winning artists at a reception to be held from 4 to 6 p.m. on Saturday, June 22. The reception and show are free and open to the public. The exhibits in all three Box Factory galleries will continue through August 8.

Steve Hansen, professor art at Andrews University, won The Best of Show award for his ceramics piece entitled "Problem Girls." The top prize of $1,000 is being donated by the Berrien Community Foundation.

Best of category winners who will each receive $200 include:
Mixed Media - Mary Amador, Goshen, Ind., for "She Prayed She Wouldn't Snap"
Ceramics - Courtney Copenhaver, Mishawaka, Ind., for "Horned Vessel"
Glass Art - Cynthia Fielding, St. Joseph, Mich., for "Fiery Dragon 1"
Drawing and Pastel - Dorothy Graden, Valparaiso, Ind., for "Holy Ghost"
Computer Art - Kevin Gross of Goshen, Ind., for "Autumnal Projections:
Painting - Tim MacDonald of St. Joseph, Mich., for "Cocktail Hour"
Sculpture - Dora Natella of Granger, Ind., for "Uovo (Egg)"
Watercolor - Bobbie Stagg of St. Joseph, Mich., for "Tranquility"
Fiber Art - Lauren Strach of St. Joseph, Mich., for "Skeletons of the Garden"
Photography - Marc Ullom, assistant professor of photography, of Niles, Mich., for "Evidence #43"
Young Artist Award - Dustin Timm of Lakeville, Ind.,, for his sculpture "Decay"

Honorable mention awards went to Rick Bauer, photography; Anne Blackburn and Lynne Tan, ceramics; Diane Cheeseman and David Jay Spyker, painting; Dorothy Graden and Rebecca Sinclair, drawing and pastel; Rebecca Hungerford and Lynne Tan, sculpture; Robin Maxon and Judith Rein, watercolor; James O'Haver and Kevin Gross, computer art; Carolyn O'Hearn and Eli Zilke and Margie Mattice, glass art; Marcia Sindone and Jacob Vanderheyden, mixed media; and Lauren Strach, fiber arts.

Three merit awards of $200 each will go to:
Jerry Harty of Kalamazoo for his glass piece "Oegelsby" sponsored by the Water Street Glassworks.
Richard Beckermeyer of Niles, Mich., for his photograph "Hoar Frost on Maple Leaves" sponsored by the Twin City Camera Club.
Dora Natella of Granger, Ind., for her sculpture "Oovo (egg)" sponsored by the Krasl Art Center

The purchase award sponsorship from previous years was replaced this year by a special preview night to purchase artwork in advance of the show. The preview night, available by invitation to previous Box Factory art patrons and Capital Campaign donors, is being underwritten by the Southwestern Michigan Tourist Council.

This year's competition drew 404 entries of which 226 works were selected by the judges. The judges were:

Leslie Alexandria - Fiber Arts; Ceramics; Glass; and Sculpture
Terry Armstrong - Painting; Watercolor; Drawing and Pastel
Brett Maniscalco - Photography; Computer Art; and Mixed Media, Printmaking and Collage

For more on this event visit the Box Factory online at or be a fan on Facebook. The Box Factory galleries are open to the public Monday to Saturday from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. and Sunday from 1 to 4 p.m.



Have an Announcement?

Please submit information for the Andrews Agenda by visiting the Agenda submissions page and use your Andrews login and password.

To add an event to the AU Online Calendar, visit the Events submissions page and use your Andrews login and password.

Subscribe to the Andrews Agenda Email

If you would like to receive the weekly Andrews Agenda email, send an email to with "Subscribe" in the subject line.
Andrews University is a Seventh-day Adventist institution of higher education
Phone: 1-800-253-2874     E-mail:
Copyright © 2011 Andrews University
Berrien Springs, Michigan 49104