Statement of Accreditation from NAAB

In the United States, most state registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as aprerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit U.S. professional degree programs in architecture, recognizes three types of degrees:  the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted a 6-year, 3-year, or 2-year term accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with the established educationalstandards.  The next accreditation visit will be in 2018 with a focus visit in 2015.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may consist of a pre-professional undergraduate degree and a professional graduate degree that, when earned sequentially, constitute an accredited professional education.  However, the pre-professional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

Andrews University, School of Architecture, Art & Design offers the following NAAB-accredited degree programs:


·       M. Arch.  (pre-professional degree + 30 graduate credits)

·       M. Arch.  (non-professional degree + 102 credits)

(The National Architectural Accrediting Board, Inc., 2009 Conditions for Accreditation)

Phone: 269-471-6003   Email:
Andrews University is a Seventh-day Adventist institution of higher education
Phone: 1-800-253-2874   E-mail:
Copyright © 2015 Andrews University
Berrien Springs, Michigan 49104