NAAB Accreditation


In the United States, most state registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure.  The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit U.S. professional degrees:  the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture.  A program may be granted a 6-year, 3-year, or 2-year term accreditation, depending on the extend of its conformance with the established educational standards.


Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may consist of a pre-professional undergraduate degree and a professional graduate degree that, when earned sequentially, constitute an accredited professional education.  However, the pre-professional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.


Andrews University, School of Architecture offers the Following NAAB-accredited degree programs:


M. Arch. (pre-professional degree + 30 graduate credits)

M. Arch. (non-pre-professional degree + 102 credits)


Next accreditation visit for all programs: 2012

(The National Architectural Accrediting Board, Inc., 2009 Conditions for Accreditation)

Download the NAAB Procedures for Accreditations 2011 Edition - Click here

Phone: 269-471-6003   Email:
Andrews University is a Seventh-day Adventist institution of higher education
Phone: 1-800-253-2874   E-mail:
Copyright © 2015 Andrews University
Berrien Springs, Michigan 49104