Nationalism in Music

   Howard Performing Arts Center
   Sat, April 22, 2017 @ 08:00 pm - 10:00 pm
    Howard Performing Arts Center

On Saturday, April 22, at 8 p.m., the Andrews University Symphony Orchestra, under the direction of Claudio Gonzalez and graduate student Ronnie Zanella, will present a concert entitled "Nationalism in Music." From the beautiful stage in the Howard Performing Arts Center on the campus of Andrews University, they will present compositions from Latin America, Spain and Russia.

Their repertoire will include "Huapango" by Juan Pablo Moncayo, featuring Carlos Flores, piano; "1812 Overture" by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky; "Danzon No. 2" by Arturo Marquez; and "Capriccio Espagnol" by Nicolai Rimsky-Korsakov.

Carlos Flores, guest pianist for the Moncayo piece, has served for 12 years on the music faculty at Andrews University. He will be retiring at the end of this school year.

Admission to this event is free and no tickets are required. For a full list of events taking place at the Howard Performing Arts Center for the remainder of the year, visit 

   Howard Performing Arts Center