"European Classics" Spring Concert

   Campus News | Posted on April 12, 2018

On Sunday, April 22, 2018, at 4 p.m., the Andrews University Wind Symphony will present its “European Classics” spring concert in the Howard Performing Arts Center.

Conducted by Byron Graves, the final concert of the 2017–2018 Wind Symphony season features a number of classic works and transcriptions for band by European composers. Selections range from Fučik’s classic Italian march “The Florentiner,” the haunting mists of “The Engulfed Cathedral” by Claude Debussy and Norman Dello Joio’s imaginative “Scenes from ‘The Louvre’” to Hindemith’s epic “March from ‘Symphonic Metamorphosis.’” Additionally, music will be performed by the Andrews University Woodwind Quintet, Brass Quintet and Saxophone Sextet.

The program is free to the public as a thank-you to all the wonderful WAUS members.

The Wind Symphony maintains a significant travel schedule throughout the Great Lakes area and seeks to provide high-quality music programs and concerts representative of Adventist education and Andrews University. The Wind Symphony has performed in England, France, Spain, Germany, Austria, Italy, Switzerland, Canada and throughout the United States.

For more information regarding this event, or any events occurring at the Howard Center this year, contact the Howard Performing Arts Center at hpac@andrews.edu.



...no comments...

Leave a comment

Please put your name in the comment field.

Andrews users may login to comment under their name.