Dean's Office

  Name Phone / Email
Gina Bangkuai
Administrative Assistant
(269) 471-6157
gina@andrews.edu
Gary Burdick
Assistant Dean for Graduate Programs
(269) 471-3501
gburdick@andrews.edu
Keith Mattingly
Dean of College of Arts & Sciences
(269) 471-3411
matt@andrews.edu
Donald May
Associate Dean, Director of General Education & Retention
(269) 471-3249
may@andrews.edu
Lisa Rollins
Assistant to the Dean
(269) 471-3657
rollinsl@andrews.edu
Leah Westfall
Administrative Assistant
(269) 471-3411
schultzl@andrews.edu

Behavioral Sciences

  Name Phone / Email
Karl Bailey
Coordinator, Behavioral Neuroscience Program
Associate Professor of Psychology
(269) 471-3577
kgbailey@andrews.edu
Harvey Burnett
Assistant Professor of Psychology
(269) 471-6881
harveyb@andrews.edu
Romulus Chelbegean
Assistant Professor, Family Studies
(269) 471-3650
chelbegr@andrews.edu
Dawn Dulhunty
IDP Director
Assistant Professor of International Development
(269) 471-3668
dulhunty@andrews.edu
Herbert Helm
Professor of Psychology
(269) 471-3157
helmh@andrews.edu
Edwin Hernandez
Adjunct Professor Behavioral Science
edwinh@dvfoundations.org
Gary Hopkins
Adjunct Professor Behavioral Science
(208) 867-2882
ghopkins@sandpoint.net
Harold James
Contract Professor of Geography
(269) 471-8798
hejames@andrews.edu
Oystein LaBianca
Associate Director, Institute of Archaeology; Professor of Anthropology
(269) 471-3515
labianca@andrews.edu
Lionel Matthews
Professor of Sociology
(269) 471-3159
matthews@andrews.edu
Duane McBride
Chair, Behavioral Sciences;  Director, Institute for Prevention of Addictions, Research Professor of Sociology
(269) 471-3576
mcbride@andrews.edu
Beverly Peck
Administrative Assistant
(269) 471-3152
bpeck@andrews.edu
Melissa Ponce-Rodas
Assistant Professor of Psychology
(269) 471-3154
ponce@andrews.edu
Joel Raveloharimisy
Director of Community & International Development
Masters Program
(269) 471-6675
raveloha@andrews.edu
Rodrick Snow
IDP Office Manager
(269) 471-6584
snowr@andrews.edu
Larry Ulery
Assistant Professor Community Services Programming; Director Service Learning
(269) 471-3296
ulery@andrews.edu
Kristen Witzel
Adjunct Professor
(269) 471-6538
witzel@andrews.edu

Biology

  Name Phone / Email
Tom Goodwin
Professor
Department Chair
(269) 471-3243
goodwin@andrews.edu
Pamela Coburn-Litvak
Assistant Professor
Graduate Program Coordinator
(269) 471-3240
plitvak@andrews.edu
Daniel Gonzalez-Socoloske
Assistant Professor
(269) 471-6085
gonzalezd@andrews.edu
James Hayward
Research Professor
(269) 471-3241
hayward@andrews.edu
Kanya Long
Assistant Professor
(269) 471-3263
kanya@andrews.edu
Peter Lyons
Assistant Professor
(269) 471-6168
lyons@andrews.edu
David Mbungu
Associate Professor
(269) 471-6399
mbungu@andrews.edu
Marlene Murray
Associate Professor
(269) 471-6243
mmurray@andrews.edu
Benjamin Navia
Associate Professor
(269) 471-6527
bnavia@andrews.edu
Denise Smith
Instructor
(269) 471-3242
denises@andrews.edu
Robert Zdor
Professor
(269) 471-6696
zdor@andrews.edu
Bill Chobotar
Professor Emeritus
(269) 471-3262
chob@andrews.edu
David Steen
Professor Emeritus
(269) 471-3256
steen@andrews.edu
John Stout
Research Professor Emeritus
(269) 471-3261
stout@andrews.edu
Dennis Woodland
Professor Emeritus
(269) 591-5030
woody@andrews.edu
Gordon Atkins
Adjunct Professor
atkins@andrews.edu
Cheryl Trine
Adjunct Professor
ctrine@andrews.edu

Chemistry and Biochemistry

  Name Phone / Email
Peter Wong
Professor Emeritus

wong@andrews.edu
David Randall
Associate Professor of Chemistry
(269) 471-3259
randalld@andrews.edu
David Nowack
Professor of Biochemistry
Chair
(269) 471-6065
nowack@andrews.edu
G. William Mutch
Professor Emeritus

mutch@andrews.edu
Desmond Murray
Associate Professor of Chemistry
(269) 471-6087
murrayd@andrews.edu
Getahun Merga
Professor of Chemistry
(269) 471-6661
mergag@andrews.edu
Ryan Hayes
Associate Professor of Chemistry
(269) 471-3248
hayesr@andrews.edu
Lisa Ahlberg
Associate Professor of Chemistry
(269) 471-6287
lahlberg@andrews.edu

Communication

  Name Phone / Email
Rachel Williams-Smith
Department Chair
Associate Professor of Communication
(269) 471-6462
rwilliams@andrews.edu
Patrice Jones
Assistant Professor
(269) 471-6562
patrice@andrews.edu
Beverly Matiko
Associate Professor of Communication & English
(269) 471-3165
matiko@andrews.edu
Debbie Michel
Associate Professor
Envision Magazine Editor-in-Chief
(269) 471-3126
dmichel@andrews.edu
Trish Moore
Administrative Assistant
(269) 471-6314
moorep@andrews.edu
Melchizedek Ponniah
Associate Professor
Media Ministry & Internship Coordinator
(269) 471-3162
melchip@andrews.edu
Delyse Steyn

Professor
(269) 471-6161
dsteyn@andrews.edu
Desrene Vernon-Brebnor
Assistant Professor
(269) 471-6468
desrene@andrews.edu

Engineering and Computer Science

  Name Phone / Email
George Agoki
Chair and Professor of Engineering
(269) 471-3421
agoki@andrews.edu
Don De Groot
Associate Professor
(269) 471-3427
degroot@andrews.edu
Hyun Kwon
Professor of Engineering
(269) 471-3890
hkwon@andrews.edu
Gunnar Lovhoiden
Associate Professor
(269) 471-6620
gunnar@andrews.edu
Boon-Chai Ng
Professor of Engineering
(269) 471-3191
ngb@andrews.edu
Rodney Summerscales
Assistant Professor
(269) 471-3694
summersc@andrews.edu
Stephen Thorman
Professor
(269) 471-9458
sthorman@andrews.edu
Roy Villafane
Associate Professor
(269) 471-3384
villafan@andrews.edu
William Wolfer
Assistant Professor of Computer Science
(269) 471-6879
wolferb@andrews.edu
Joleen Yasa
Department Coordinator
(269) 471-3415
joleen@andrews.edu

English

  Name Phone / Email
Janet Blackwood
Assistant Professor of English & Director of Off-Campus TESOL programs
(269) 471-3168
janet@andrews.edu
Jeanette Bryson
Assistant Professor
(269) 471-3294
brysonj@andrews.edu
Bruce Closser
Associate Professor
(269) 471-3172
closserb@andrews.edu
Vanessa Corredera
Assistant Professor
(269) 471-3073
correder@andrews.edu
Ivan Davis
Associate Professor of English
(269) 471-3698

ivan@andrews.edu
Gary Gray
Assistant Professor
(269) 471-3167
garygray@andrews.edu
F. Estella Greig
Professor Emerita
(269) 471-3174
greigs@andrews.edu
Douglas Jones
Chair/Professor of English
(269) 471-3173
douglas@andrews.edu
Meredith Jones-Gray
Professor of English
(269) 471-3171
meredith@andrews.edu
E. Julia Kim
Associate Professor of English
(269) 471-3170
keun@andrews.edu
Asta LaBianca
Instructor of English
(269) 471-3660
asta@andrews.edu
Beverly Matiko
Associate Professor of Communication and English
(269) 471-3165
matiko@andrews.edu
Scott Moncrieff
Professor of English
(269) 471-3169
moncrief@andrews.edu
L. Monique Pittman
Professor of English and Director of Honors
(269) 471-6084
pittman@andrews.edu
Dianne Staples
Associate Professor
(269) 471-6871
staplesd@andrews.edu

History and Political Science

  Name Phone / Email
Marcella Myers
Chair, Department of History and Political Science
Associate Professor of Political Science
(269) 471-3293
marcellm@andrews.edu
John Markovic
Professor of History
(269) 471-3511
jjmarko@andrews.edu
Brian Strayer
Professor of History
(269) 471-3612
bstrayer@andrews.edu
Brent Geraty
General Counsel/Assistant Professor of Legal Studies
(269) 471-6530
bgeraty@andrews.edu
Gary Wood
Associate Professor of Political Science
(269) 471-3290
gwood@andrews.edu
Kathryn M. Silva
Assistant Professor of History
Director, African American Studies
(269) 471-3291
kmsbanks@andrews.edu
Carmelita Arthur
Administrative Assistant
(269) 471-3292
carmelia@andrews.edu

International Language Studies

  Name Phone / Email
Sonia Badenas
Assistant Professor of French
(269) 471-6285
badenas@andrews.edu
Lilianne Doukhan
Adjunct Full Professor of German
(269) 471-3121
ldoukhan@andrews.edu
Elaine Navia
Instructor of Portuguese and Spanish
(269) 471-2480
enavia@andrews.edu
Pedro Navia
Professor of Spanish, Department Chair
(269) 471-3181
navia@andrews.edu
Rubén Pérez-Schulz
Assistant Professor of Spanish
(269) 471-3183
rubenp@andrews.edu

Library (Research)

  Name Phone / Email


Merlin Burt
Director, Center for Adventist Research
Associate Professor of Church History
(269) 471-3209
burt@andrews.edu
Kathleen Demsky
Director, Architecture Resource Center
Associate Professor of Library Science
(269) 471-2418
demskyk@andrews.edu
Daniel Drazen
Editor, SDA Periodical Index
Assistant Professor of Library Science
(269) 471-3319
drazen@andrews.edu
Jim Ford
Curator, Adventist Heritage Center, Center for Adventist Research
Associate Professor of Library Science
(269) 471-3209
fordjim@andrews.edu
Bernard Helms
Periodical/Acquisitions Librarian, Department of Bibliographic Services and Periodicals
Assistant Professor of Library Science
(269) 471-3208
helms@andrews.edu
Cynthia Helms
Head, department of Information Services
Associate Professor of Library Science
(269) 471-6260
helmsc@andrews.edu
Linda Mack
Music Librarian
(269) 471-3114
mack@andrews.edu
Lauren Matacio
Instruction Librarian, Department of Information Services
Associate Professor of Library Science
(269) 471-6062
matacio@andrews.edu
Silas Olivera
Reference/Database/Off-campus Services Librarian, Department of Information Services
Professor of Library Science
(269) 471-6263
silas@andrews.edu

Mathematics

  Name Phone / Email
Shandelle M. Henson
Chair, Department of Mathematics
(269) 471-3423
henson@andrews.edu
Karen Johnson-McWilliams
Administrative Assistant
(269) 471-3423
karenj@andrews.edu
Joon Hyuk Kang
Professor of Mathematics
(269) 471-6144
kang@andrews.edu
Robert C. Moore
Professor of Mathematics
(269) 471-3424
moorer@andrews.edu
Yun Myung Oh
Associate Professor of Mathematics
(269) 471-3304
ohy@andrews.edu
Marian V. Prince
Adjunct Faculty
(269) 471-6169
mprince@andrews.edu
Amanda Umlauf
Instructor of Mathematics
(269) 471-6169
umlauf@andrews.edu
Abdias R. Vence
Asst. Prof. of Math. Instruction
(269) 471-6646
vence@andrews.edu
Lynelle M. Weldon
Associate Professor of Mathematics
(269) 471-3866
weldon@andrews.edu

Music

  Name Phone / Email
Lilianne Doukhan
Chair, Department of Music; Professor of Music (Music History and Musicology)
(269) 471-3121
ldoukhan@andrews.edu
Carlos Flores
Professor of Music (Music Theory and Piano)
(269) 471-6342
cflores@andrews.edu
Claudio Gonzalez
Associate Professor of Music; Conductor, University Orchestra and Sinfonietta
(269) 471-3556
cgonzale@andrews.edu
Averil Kurtz
Office Manager
(269) 471-3555
kurtza@andrews.edu
Kenneth Logan
Professor of Music (Organ, Composition) University Organist; Minister of Music, Pioneer Memorial Church
(269) 471-3231
klogan@andrews.edu
Alan Mitchell
Assistant Professor of Music (Band); Conductor, Wind Symphony; Music Education Area Coordinator; Graduate Music Program Director
(269) 471-6340
alanm@andrews.edu
Trina Thompson
Assistant Professor of Theory and Piano
(269) 471-6338
trina@andrews.edu
Carla Trynchuk
Professor of Music (Violin); String Area Coordinator
(269) 471-6337
trynchuk@andrews.edu
Chi Yong Yun
Assistant Professor; Piano Area Coordinator
(269) 471-2879
yunc@andrews.edu
Stephen Zork
Associate Professor of Music (Choir and Voice); Conductor, University Singers
(269) 471-6713
stezork@andrews.edu
Charles Reid
Associate Professor of Voice; Voice Area Coordinator
(269) 471-3130
reidc@andrews.edu

Physics

  Name Phone / Email
Gary Burdick
Professor of Physics
(269) 471-3501
gburdick@andrews.edu
Brendan Cross
Assistant Professor of Physics
(269) 471-3070
garnett@andrews.edu
Robert Kingman
Emeritus Professor of Physics
(269) 471-3431
kingman@andrews.edu
Mickey Kutzner
Professor of Physics
(269) 471-6291
kutzner@andrews.edu
Margarita Mattingly
Chair, Professor of Physics
(269) 471-3508
mattingl@andrews.edu
Clark Rowland
Emeritus Professor
(269) 471-3502
rowland@andrews.edu
Tiffany Summerscales
Assistant Professor of Physics
(269) 471-3523
tzs@andrews.edu
Stephen Thorman
Professor of Physics and Computer Science
(269) 471-3458
sthorman@andrews.edu
Kelly Youngberg
Administrative Assistant
(269) 471-3430
kelly@andrews.edu

Religion and Biblical Studies

  Name Phone / Email
Melissa Butler
Administrative Assistant
(269) 471-3177
melissab@andrews.edu
Lael Caesar
Research Professor of Hebrew Bible
Associate Editor of Adventist Review and Adventist World Magazines
caesarl@gc.adventist.org
Erhard Gallos
Assistant Professor of Religion
(269) 471-3186
gallos@andrews.edu
Ante Jeroncic
Associate Professor of Religion
(269) 471-3187
jeroncic@andrews.edu 
Rubén Muñoz-Larrondo
Assistant Professor of Biblical Studies
(269) 471-3185
rmunoz@andrews.edu
Paul Petersen
Chair
(269) 471-3178
ppetersen@andrews.edu
Glenn Russell
Assistant Professor of Religion
(269) 471-3188
glenn@andrews.edu
Rahel Schafer
Assistant Professor of Biblical Studies
(269) 471-3184
rschafer@andrews.edu
Susan Zork
Assistant Professor of Religion
(269) 471-3867
zork@andrews.edu

Social Work

  Name Phone / Email
Alina Baltazar
Assistant Professor & MSW Program Director of Social Work. Prevention Education, I.P.A.
MSW, LMSW, ACSW, CFLE
(269) 471-6877
baltazar@andrews.edu
Krista Cooper
Assistant Professor of Social Work
MSW, PhD Candidate
(269) 471-6249
Desiree Davis
Associate Professor and BSW Program Director
MSW, LMSW, LCSW
(269) 471-6875
desireed@andrews.edu
John Gavin
Associate Professor of Social Work and Assistant Undergraduate Program Director at Washington Adventist University Extension
MSW
(269) 471-6196 Direct: 301-891-4153
jgavin@wau.edu
Melissa E. Henley
Director of Field Education and Assistant Professor of Social Work at Washington Adventist University Extension
MSW
(301) 891-4574
mhenley@wau.edu
Margaret Howell
Assistant Professor of Social Work and Dua Degree Coordinator
MSW, LICSW
(269) 471-6647
margareh@andrews.edu
Susan W. Oliver
Administrative Assistant
M.A.
(269) 471-6196
oliver@andrews.edu
Twyla Smith
Assistant Professor of Social Work & Director of Field Education
MSW
(269) 471-6600
twyla@andrews.edu
Wendy Thompson
Associate Professor of Social Work
DrPH, MSW, LSW
(269) 471-6516
thompsow@andrews.edu
Curtis VanderWaal
Professor of Social Work and Chair of the Department of Social Work
PhD, ACSW
(269) 471-6196
vanderwa@andrews.edu
Jan Wrenn
Professor of Social Work
MSW, ACSW
(269) 471-6677
jwrenn@andrews.edu
Phone: 269-471-3411   Email: cas-info@andrews.edu
Andrews University is a Seventh-day Adventist institution of higher education
Phone: 1-800-253-2874   E-mail: enroll@andrews.edu
Copyright © 2014 Andrews University
Berrien Springs, Michigan 49104