Calendar of Events: 2018–2019

Fall 2018–Spring 2019

Click here to view a printable Honors events list. 

                   Chicago Symphony Orchestra, performance of Rimsky-Korsakov and Mozart, Fall 2018

Fall 2018

Sunday, 19 August:  Honors Freshman Rally, Newbold Auditorium, 8:00 p.m.

Thursday, 23 August: Honors Council Planning Meeting, Buller Conference Room, 9:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

27 August- 31 August: Honorspalooza!
     Day 1:  Michigan Fruitopia
     Day 2:  Welcome Back Bagel Bounty  
     Day 3:  Officer’s Day
     Day 4:  Honors Faculty & Trivia Day 
     Day 5:  Honors Freshman Buddy Lunch, 1:30 pm (Forsyth Honors House)

Wednesday, 5 September:  Dr. Jerry Root (Wheaton College C. S. Lewis Scholar), “C. S. Lewis and The Power of Story,” Newbold Auditorium, 6:00 pm

Thursday,  13 September: Change Day

Friday, 21 September: Fall Honors Agape Feast, Chan Shun Hall, 5:30-7:15 p.m

Monday, 24 September:  Honors Cosmos Class Outing, Conversation with Richard Mouw and Praveen Sethupathy, BioLogos at Christian Reformed Church, Grand Rapids, MI (Bus loading at 4:30 pm and Departure time of 4:45 pm)

Thursday, 27 September:  Chicago Symphony Orchestra, performance of Rimsky-Korsakov and Mozart—Bus loading at 4:40 pm MI time and Departure time of 4:45 pm MI time

Monday and Tuesday, 8-9 October: Fall Break

Friday, 12 October: Bernard Taylor, “Reading Genesis 1:  Some Translation Required!” Newbold Auditorium, 6:00 pm

Friday, 19 October:  Volunteer Potluck Cooking at Harbor of Hope in Benton Harbor, 3:00 – 5:00 pm

Wednesday, 24 October: Honors-Explore Professional Workshop— Statement of Purpose and Cover Letters (Dr. Vanessa Corredera), Buller 250, 6:00 – 7:00 pm

Friday, 26 October:  Celebration of Research, Buller Hall, 12:30 – 4:30 pm

Wednesday, 31 October:  Honors Office Reformation Day Celebrations

Thursday, 8 November:  Western Heritage Outing to Art Institute of Chicago 

Saturday, 10 November:  Honors Church—Women of Faith: Past, Present, and Future, (HPAC), 11:45 am

Thursday, 15 November: Fall Thesis Symposium, Buller Hall Lobby & Classrooms, 4:00 p.m.-6 p.m.

Saturday, 17 November:  Charles Dickens’s A Christmas Carol at the Goodman Theatre, Chicago, IL.  Bus loading at 4:40 pm MI time and Departure time of 4:45 pm MI time.

Wednesday, 28 November: Honors-Explore Professional Workshop, Buller 250, 6:00 – 7:00 pm

Friday, 30 November:  Volunteer Potluck Cooking at Harbor of Hope in Benton Harbor, 3:00 – 5:00 pm

Thursday, 6 December:  Honors Office Christmas Celebrations, 11:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m. 

 

                                                                     Scholars on Ice, Spring 2018

Spring 2018


Saturday, 12 January:  Scholars on Ice, 5:30 – 8:30 p.m. 

Wednesday, 23 January:  Honors-Explore Professional, Buller Hall 251, 6:00 – 7:00 pm

Friday, 8 February:  Spring Honors Agape Feast, Chan Shun Hall, 6:00 – 7:30 pm

Wednesday, 13 February:  Honors-Explore Professional, Buller Hall 251, 6:00 – 7:00 pm

Friday and Sabbath, 15-16 February:  Science and Theology Dialogues (Andrews University Seventh-Day Adventist Theological Seminary)

Friday, 1 March:  Michigan Academy of Science, Arts, and Letters (Central Michigan University)

Friday, 8 March: Honors Scholars and Undergraduate Research Poster Symposium, Buller Hall Lobby, 1:30-2:30 (Grading Hour), 2:30-4:00 p.m. (General Admission)

Monday, 1 April:  Western Heritage Worldview Extravaganza, Honors Office, 6:00 – 8:00 pm

Friday, 5 April: Final written Honors Thesis due (May graduates), 12:00 p.m.

Thursday, 11 April: Western Heritage Holocaust Museum Outing & End-of-Year Banquet

Friday, 12 April:  Honors Thesis Symposium, Buller Hall Lobby and Classrooms, 1:30-5:30 p.m.

Wednesday, 24 April:  Ms. Maxine Day, Honors Office, 9:30 am – 4:00 pm

Tuesday, 30 April: Hoagie Fest and Honors Officer Voting 2019, Honors Office, 12:00 pm - 2:00 p.m.