

Faculty Senate 2015-2016

MINUTES: 09 DEC 2015 (WEDNESDAY)

GRIGGS HALL Council Chambers.

18:40 - 20:45

L. Weldon, Chair; D. Randall, rec sect'y

Present: K. Bailey; T. Grajales; S. Kimakwa; K. Koudele; J. Ledesma; G. Lovhoiden; D. Randall; B. Sedlacek; T. Lowing; M. Ullom; J. Sigvartsen; L. Weldon; R. Zdor; K. Hall; J. Richardson; J. Lim; J. Peckham; L. Ruhupatty; B. Gibson; F. Cortez; A. Coria-Navia; S. Moncrieff; C. Gane; E. Oakley; C. Sigua; Regrets/absent: S. Badenas; K. Beagles; G. Russell; T. Newkirk; R. Williams-Smith; Guests: none

Minutes: Votes taken by senate on agenda items. (with embedded document)

- 2. Minutes of the 18 Nov 2015 senate meeting. Moved & seconded; VOTE APPROVED.
- **3. Race & Justice Committee:** Approve membership addition of Desmond Murray and Lionel Matthews to Race and Justice Committee. Moved & Seconded; VOTE PASSED.
- **3. Race & Justice Committee:** Approve Sarah Kimakwa and Beverly Sedlacek to serve as interim co-vice chairs. Moved & Seconded; VOTE PASSED.



- **4. Faith Integration committee:** Approve membership addition of Janine Lim and Glynis Bradfield to membership of Faith Integration committee. Moved & Seconded; VOTE PASSED.
- **4. Faith Integration committee:** Approve committee-elected leadership: Janet Ledesma to be chair; Duane Covrig to be recording secretary. Moved & Seconded; VOTE PASSED. (see comment & discussion below)
- **9. Other business (Faculty Load):** Recommend that specific numeric value be included urgently for advising in revised document from FDPC. Moved & Seconded; VOTE PASSED (see comment & discussion below).

ELECTION Results (agenda 5 & 6)

AU Faculty delegates to constituency	meeting on 28 FEB 2015	Faculty representatives to constituency
Tenured (≥ 10 req'd from by-laws)	Non-tenured	NOMINATING COMMITTEE
1. Eric Baumgartner	Janet Blackwood	Four elected from the names at left
2. Sherine Brown-Fraser	2. Harvey Burnett	1. Thomas Goodwin
3. Thomas Goodwin	Anneris Coria-Navia	2. Desmond Murray
4. Martin Hanna	4. Carlos Flores	3. Paul Kim
5. Kathy Koudele	5. Duane Habenicht	4. Hyveth Williams
6. Ben Maguad	6. Paul Kim	
7. Desmond Murray	7. Kristin von Maur	
8. Terry Robertson	8. Hyveth Williams	
9. Tom Shepherd	9. Carole Woolford-Hunt	
10. Jacquelyn Warwick		

Next Senate Meetings: 6:00 – 8:00 in 133 Haughey Hall (aka Physics & Math Amphitheater); 3rd Wed except in March 20 Jan 2016 18 Feb 2016 9 Mar 2016 20 Apr 2016 (May & summer meetings TBD)

Comments and discussion:

- 4. Faith-integration committee: Will work with Center for College Faith chair (M. Kutzner) to avoid duplication of effort.
- 9. <u>(Faculty load) Advising load</u>: K. Bailey baselined how advising is managed at other colleges; load is assigned for undergraduate student advising at a rate of approx. 0.1 (one-tenth) load credit per advisee. Consensus of faculty senate was that this seemed reasonable.
- 9. (Faculty load) additional discussion: (WP 2:376: § 1-4; WP 2:803:1)
 - a. Seminary involves many school-level committees that should count towards load.
 - b. Missing items from current policy are: Advising, large classes, direct contact hour accounting.
 - c. Load should account for hours that faculty are scheduled to work with studios / labs when faculty are present.
 - d. Faculty load should not be based on credit hours generated. (ideally they match, but not always across campus).
 - e. There should be some review of calculation of load for on-line courses. These are different than traditional lecture / lab courses. Present practice is that different schools at Andrews account this differently.
 - f. The assumption of the document is that a simple formula can somehow account for the complex job of serving as a university professor at Andrews. At some point there needs to be good faith acceptance that faculty are working.