

Faculty Senate 2017–2018

MINUTES: April 18, 2018

Whirlpool Room, Chan Shun Hall 6:00-8:00 pm

K. Hall, Chair; K. Bailey, recording sect'y

Present: K. Bailey, S. Badenas, A. Baltazar, S. Bell, S. Brown-Fraser, A. Coria-Navia, D. Davis, H. Ferguson, C. Gane, B. Gibson, D. Habenicht, K. Hall, J. Lim, G. Lovhoiden, B. Maguad, S. Moncrieff, T. Newkirk, N. Nosworthy, J. Sigvartsen, A. Solis, R. Wells, R. Zdor.
Regrets/absent: B. Ade-Oshifogun, D. Fortin, O. Glanz, M. Murray, R. Perez-Schulz, D. Randall, R. Siebold, D. Taylor, C. Arthur, A. Luxton.
Guests: L. Ahlberg.

Votes & Actions taken (numbers [n] represent items on original agenda)

[2] Minutes of March 14, 2018 Senate Meeting. MOTION: Move to approve minutes as presented (K. Bailey). Seconded; VOTE PASSED. K. Hall noted that President Luxton has agreed to hire a graduate assistant to help with some of the administrative tasks required of Senate Officers.

[4] Committee Reports

R. Wells

AU UFO Steering Committee.

The AU UFO SC thanks the Senate for recommending new people to the committee. The SC is much larger than before, but the energy is positive. It feels appropriate to have more voices working on this. The Senate asked for additional faculty membership from the Assessment Committee. **MOTION:** "To add Gretchen Krivak (Assessment), Luana Greulich (Assessment), and Sherine Brown-Fraser (Senate, UGC, ACE) to the AU UFO Steering Committee." (J. Lim). Seconded. **VOTE PASSED.** There is a full complement of 50+ people for the May Retreat.

Undergraduate Council, Faculty Policy and Development Council, Graduate Council, Academic Operations Council, Graduate Faith & Integration, Race and Justice. No report.

[5] Senate Election Results

Nine new faculty senators have been elected: Sonia Badenas (CAS Humanities), Christian Stuart (Humanities), Tom Goodwin (CAS STEM), Peter Lyons (CAS STEM), Anneris Coria-Navia (School of Education), Ryan Orrison (School of Health Professions), Kenley Hall (SDA Theological Seminary), Janine Lim (School of Distance Education and International Programs), and Bonny Dent (School of Distance Education and International Program).

[6] Senate Officers and Standing Committee Representatives Election

The Senate held a secret ballot election and recommended the following officers for the 2018-2019 school year:

Chair: Kenley Hall Vice Chair: Heather Ferguson Executive Secretary: Karl Bailey Communications Officer: Rahel Wells Parliamentarian: Sonia Badenas The Senate identified faculty serving as representatives on Standing Committees. The Senate voted the following liaisons to Institutional Diversity & Inclusion Action Council and the Staff Senate: IDIAC: Anneris Coria-Navia Staff Senate: Rahel Wells

[7] Faculty Annual Report: Update

The Senate Officers have ensured that the Faculty Annual Evaluation is available electronical through vault.andrews.edu prior to May 1. The Annual Evaluation will be introduced at the General Faculty Meeting on April 30. The basic format was introduced to the senators.

[8] Timing of the Undergraduate Experience Revision Process

The senate officers are recommending a set of deadlines for committees that report to the senate in order to ensure that elements of the undergraduate experience that are currently being revised are brought to the senate in an order that is most effective for placing the revision in the 2020-2021 bulletin. The senate is coordinating this effort in line with the senate constitution and shared governance agreement, and at the request of the Provost in the absence of an undergraduate experience coordinator. There are five components to be organized: the definition of degrees, the badging initiative, ACE redesign, any resulting changes to majors/cognates, and guidance and training for advisors. The target senate meetings for each are:

definition of degrees (October 2018) badging (Fall 2018) ACE redesign (December 2018) majors/cognates (Spring 2019 to PDRC) guidance and training for advisors (Spring 2019 dialogue)

There was discussion about whether the senate was overstepping its authority in coordinating this timeline; however, this function was identified by the officers as arising from foundational documents that define the senate and from the request to the officers from the Provost.

[9] Race and Justice Subcommittee Membership

MOTION: "To add Barbara Harrison (Nursing) and Lynn Caldwell (VACD) to the Race and Justice Subcommittee." (T. Newkirk). Seconded. **VOTE PASSED.** There is still no chair for this subcommittee.

Senate Discussion & Announcements

[1] Worship & Prayer

The pearl of great price (Matt 13:45). Prayer: R. Zdor.

[3] ETLC/CTL Updates

There was good attendance at the March 29 Andrews University Teaching and Learning Conference. About 110 people attended the faculty Augsburger awardee talks in the morning. There was good attendance from Berrien Springs Public Schools even at the morning session so the partnership is growing. The date for next year will be March 28th (last Thursday in March). It was important for students to experience presenting their work to so many people.

Effective Teaching and Learning Council was given a mandate by the Senate to look at the possibility of selfnominations for the Augsburger award to be anonymous. The ETLC discussed this issue on three separate occasions. The ETLC will think about producing some nomination forms that are neutral so that the language doesn't identify self/other person nominations. However, ETLC wants to keep the process open and allow for non-anonymous nominations. These materials could be presented to the Senate in summer or fall.

The professional development brochure will be ready soon. Faculty will receive electronically first and then at Faculty Institute.

Senators noted that the learning conference was at the same time as the HR benefits fair. This appears to be an issue with other offices on campus not knowing about already scheduled events—the AUTLC is set a year in advance. It would help if the University had a master calendar.

A. Coria-Navia

K. Hall