Minutes of the Undergraduate Council Andrews University December 6, 2010

Margarita Mattingly, chair; Tiffany Summerscales, vice-chair; Ben A. Maguad, Members Present secretary; Michelle Bacchiocchi, Verlyn Benson, Kristine Knutson, Shanna Leak, Gunnar Lovhoiden, Keith Mattingly, Donald May, Lynn Merklin, Rhonda Root, Allen Stembridge, Carmelita Troy, Gary Williams, Jeannie Wolfer

Emilio Garcia-Marenko

Regrets

Margarita Mattingly led out in the devotional and offered the prayer.

Devotional & Prayer

Margarita Mattingly welcomed the Undergraduate Council members and called the meeting to order. She also welcomed the following new UGC members:

Welcome & Introductions

Gary Burdick (Associate Dean for Research)

Gunnar Lovhoiden (COT)

Rhonda Root (COT)

VOTED to approve the Council minutes dated November 1, 2010.

UGC2010.12.06A

Council Minutes

Margarita Mattingly announced the creation of a website which would be the document repository for the UGC. The URL address is www.andrews.edu/go/ugcouncil.

Document Repository

VOTED to include the new URL address in future UGC agendas and

UGC2010.12.06B

Tiffany Summerscales shared minutes from the October 15, 2010 meeting of the PDRC.

PDRC Minutes

VOTED to accept the PDRC October 10, 2010 minutes into the record.

UGC2010.12.06C

Donald May shared minutes from the November 12, 2010 meeting of the General Education Committee.

GEC Minutes

VOTED to accept the GEC November 12, 2010 minutes into the record.

UGC2010.12.06D

The Council discussed the new composition of the Academic Policies Subcommittee. The Subcommittee includes three administrators (General Education Director, Registrar and Associate Registrar), one faculty from each UG School (School of Architecture, School of Business Administration, School of Education and the College of Technology) and four members from the College of Arts and Sciences, one each from its major divisions (Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences and Health). The ex officio administrators include:

Academic Policies Subcommittee **Nominations**

Donald May (General Education) Emilio Garcia-Marenko (Registrar) Gary Williams (Associate Registrar) The faculty nominated by the various schools include:

Paula Dronen (ARCH)
Ante Jeroncic (CAS-Humanities)
Melchizedek Ponniah (CAS-Social Sciences)
David Nowack (CAS-Sciences)
Dwight Huslin (CAS-Health Sciences)
Rhonda Root (COT)
LeRoy Ruhupatti (SBA)
Barbara Reid (SED)

VOTED to accept and appoint the given roster of *ex officio* and nominated faculty for the new Academic Policies Subcommittee.

UGC2010.12.06E

VOTED to task the Subcommittee with studying and bringing recommendations to the Council regarding undergraduate policies for (a) Withdrawal Dates, (b) Marching without Completion, (c) Course Substitution for Disabled Students, and (d) Monthly Progress Report.

UGC2010.12.06F

Carletta Witzel is currently working on the course substitution policy for disabled students. The document has been submitted to the Office of General Counsel for evaluation.

VOTED to task the Subcommittee with preparing an initial draft of its Terms of Reference.

UGC2010.12.06G

Margarita Mattingly will work with the Subcommittee to develop the draft of the Terms of Reference.

VOTED to prioritize the work of the Subcommittee as follows: (a) Terms of Reference, (b) Withdrawal Dates, (c) Marching without Completion, and (d) Course Substitution for Disabled Students.

UGC2010.12.06H

The following items pertain to proposed actions from the General Education Committee.

General Education Committee Items

- To accept and implement the GEC recommended designations AH (Art History) and SA (Studio Art) to distinguish between courses in the Visual Arts for General Education.
- To accept and implement the GEC recommendation that the RELT100 prerequisite be removed from General Education religion courses.
- To accept and implement the GEC recommendation that Personal Finance FNCE 206 (3 credits) be included in the Social Science elective grouping for General Education requirements.
- To accept and implement the GEC recommendation to no longer require students to take the computer literacy test when INFS120 is required. Students will have the option to waive the course by passing a waiver examination or a 3-credit challenge examination.

VOTED to group the above four items together for approval as a whole.

UGC2010.12.06J

VOTED to approve the above proposed actions as a whole.

The Office of the Provost has requested drafts of Terms of Reference for all committees. A first draft has been prepared for the UGC and the PDRC.

UGC and PDRC Terms of Reference

VOTED to recommend the UGC Terms of Reference to the Office of the Provost.

UGC2010.12.06K

VOTED to recommend the PDRC Terms of Reference to the Office of the Provost (except for the last box).

UGC2010.12.06L

Margarita Mattingly, chair

Ben A. Maguad, secretary

Ben a. Magual