Information For:
Future Students
Visitors & Parents
Current Students
Faculty & Staff

2007 Faculty/Staff Service Awards

Date: March 5, 2007
Phone: 269-471-3322

Andrews University's faculty, staff, and Board of Trustees enjoyed their annual banquet on Sunday, March 4. The evening opened with a reception and student art exhibition in the lobby of the Howard Performing Arts Center, then continued with the entertainment/awards presentation in the concert hall. The program, "The Golden Cardinal Awards," was styled after the Oscars, with spoof categories like "Best in Shoes," "Best Golf Cart Driver," and "Best Milker" mixed-in with the more serious Excellence in Service, Excellence in Teaching, and Years of Service awards. Attendees closed off the evening with a dinner catered by the campus cafeteria.

Almost 90 faculty and staff members were honored for anywhere from five to thirty-five years of service at Andrews. Three were honored for 30 years of service: Gary Marsh, professor of aviation technology; Daniel Bidwell, senior systems administrator; and Tom Baker, teacher of English and German at Andrews Academy.

The two 35-year honorees were: Barbara Friesen, assistant to administration, and Patricia Mutch, professor of nutrition.

Three staff members were honored for Excellence in Service. Recipients of this award are hourly or salaried full- or part-time staff who have served for at least three consecutive years, and have not previously received the award. The award is given "in recognition of outstanding service to the university, the church, and the community, and for demonstrating, by precept and example, a Christ-centered life." This year's awardees included: Ildiko Gyeresi, asst. to financial records director; Sandra White, interlibrary loans associate for the James White Library; and Barbara Friesen, assistant in administration.

The Daniel A. Augsburger Excellence in Teaching award was given to seven faculty members. This award is intended to recognize faculty whose teaching reflects the high standards of excellence modeled by Dr. Augsburger in his 60 years of teaching at Andrews University. Dr. Augsburger's leadership, academic rigor, breadth of knowledge, teacher-scholar role, along with care and concern for students, exemplify the best of faculty endeavors. Faculty from each school nominate and choose their individual candidates. Formerly known as the Excellence in Teaching Award, the name changed in the 2002-2003 school year. Those recipients included: Jacques Doukhan, professor of Hebrew & Old Testament exegesis; Stan Beikmann, assistant professor of agriculture; Arlene Saliba, assistant professor of nursing; Janice Wrenn, associate professor of social work; Shirley Freed, professor of teacher education; Leonard Gashugi, associate professor of economics and finance; and Rhonda Root, professor of art.

Glenn Russell, assistant professor of religion, received this year's Spiritual Life Award, which is awarded to any employee, faculty or staff member, who has made a significant contribution to the spiritual life of campus. Names are considered and voted by the Spiritual Life Committee. This award was instituted in 2005.

Years of Service:

25 Years
Bennett Chilson
Daniel Cress
Ruthellen Gardner
Meredith Jones Gray
Rebecca Lofthouse
Theresa Popp
Jeanette Robinson
Robert Schwab
Barry Wilson

20 Years
Mari Aker
Sallie Alger
John Baldwin
Merle Bascom
Elynda Bedney
Winston Craig
JoAnn Davidson
Kathleen Demsky
Steven Hansen
Hilda Hasel
Julia Lindsay
Linda Mack
Alan Mitchell
Dewey Murdick
John Reichert
V. Allen Wellborn
Dennis Willis

15 Years
David Alonso
Steven Atkins
Dianne Barnum
Robert Barnum
Denise Curnutt
Daniel Drazen
Sharon Dudgeon
Annetta Gibson
Ann Marquez
Beverly Matiko
Frances McMullen
Terry Robertson
Susan Zork

10 Years
Joshua Baltazar
Marsha Beal
Marvin Budd
Grace Carlos
Michael Carpenter
Carey Carscallen
William Colwell
Douglas Crawford
D. Ivan Davis
Deborah Everhart
Leigh Everhart
Elvin Gabriel
Emilio Garcia-Marenko
Donald Hollister
James Lim
Jeffrey Loucks
Jim Nave
Vaughan Nelson
Ricardo Norton
C. Brooks Payne
Melchizedek Ponniah
Robert Steele
Joanna Sudds
Marc Ullom
Alisa Wardecke
Lynelle Weldon
Ronald Whitehead

5 Years
Daniel Agnetta
Michelle Bacchiocchi
R. Lee Davidson
Dawn Dulhunty
Judith Fisher
Brigette Hinds
Dennis Hollingsead
Barbara Huset
Martin Lee
Getahun Merga
Boon-Chai Ng
Lee E. Olson
Karen Pearson
Linda Reece
Karen Reiner
Harold Schmidt
Nevena Slavujevic
Harold B. Smith

Andrews University is a Seventh-day Adventist institution of higher education
Phone: 1-800-253-2874     Email:
Copyright © 2014 Andrews University
Berrien Springs, Michigan 49104