Math 215 Introduction to Linear Algebra

Fall 2017

  • Online matrix calculator Good to check your work with this but please don't depend on this too much!
  • Homework Assignment & Schedule of Exams It is subject to change!
  • Please do all problems for your learning but only problems in {} will be collected and graded.
    Hw 1: (sec 2.1) #{16},18,{22},26,{28},32,{34} (sec2.2) #{25,27,35,36,37,38} due: Wed, Sept 6.
    Hw 2: (sec 2.2) 2,4,6,{8},12,{14,18},22,{26,46} (sec 2.3) #2,{4},8,10,{12,18} due: Mon, Sept 11
    Hw 3: (sec 2.3) #{22,24},26,{27,34},36 (sec 2.4) #{2},5,{16,20}, (sec 3.1) {4},6,{8,14,16,18},22,32,{34,36}. due: Wed, Sept 20 (changed!)
    Exam 1 will be given on Wed, Sept 27 based on sections 2.1-3.3 and review 1 is due on the same day.
    Hw 4: (sec 3.1) #20 (sec 3.2) {4,6},7,{10},11,{14,15} (sec 3.3) 3,{6,8},10,{12,22} updated! on Mon, Sept 25.
    Hw 5: (sec 3.3) 36,38,{40},{52},53,{54} page 252, #1 (a) thru (f), #2 thru #6, #8 thru #11. due: Mon, Oct 2.
    Hw 6: (sec 3.4) #3,{4,8},9,{10} with additional hand out (sec 3.5) 2,{4,6},8,{12,16,20,24,28},35,{38},41,{42,44} (updated!)Due: Wed, Oct 11.
    Hw 7: (sec 3.6) #1,{2,4,6},9,{10},12,{14} Due: Mon, Oct 16.
    Hw 8: (sec 3.6) #{16},17,{24},31,{32} with additional hand-out , (sec 3.7) #37,{38(read example 3.67 in page 239)#{52, 56 with the number of 2-paths from second vertex to forth vertex from #56} Due: Mon, Oct 23
    Hw 9: (sec 4.1) #2,{4},5,{6},9,{10},11,{12,14},17,{18,24},25 with wk12 Due: Wed, Oct 25.
    Hw 10: (sec 4.2) #2,4,{6},8,10,{14,16,24,26,28,30,32,36,38,46},48,50,{52,54},58,{60,64} You can turn in #64 on Tuesday, Oct 31 before noon if needed. Due: Mon, Oct 30.
    Exam 2 will be given on Wed, Nov 1 based on sections 3.4-4.2 and review 2 is due on the same day.
    wk14 is due on Monday, Nov 6. The copy was put in your box.
    Hw 11: (sec 4.3) #2,{4,6,10,15,16},17,18 {three more problems in the hw assignment}. Due: Wed, Nov 8.
    Hw 12: (sec 4.4) #2,{4,6,10,11,16,20},21,{36} with 2nd page of today's note.(use online calculator for this problem!) Due: Mon, Nov 13.
    Hw 13: handout for sec 4.5 & 4.6 & (sec 5.1) #2,{4,6,8,10,14},18,{20} due: Mon, Nov 20.
    Hw 14: (sec 5.2) #2,{4,6,8,10,12},20,{22} due: Mon, Nov 27.
    Exam 3 will be given on Wed, Nov 29 based on sections 4.3-4.6 and 5.1-5.3 and review 3 is due on the same day.
    Hw 15: (sec 5.3) #{4,6,8,10,16,18}. due: Mon, Dec 4
    Comprehensive Final Exam is scheduled on Wed, Dec 13 from 1:30 to 3:30.


  • review 1
  • review 2
  • review 3
  • review final
    Department of Mathematics / Andrews University / Berrien Springs, MI 49104 USA