Presidential History

Presidential Facts

Through the years, those who have served as president of our institution have not only served as spiritual leader, guided the development of esprit de corps, physical plant and curriculum, but also brought sometimes-amusing personalities to the campus:

  1. Battle Creek College president, Alexander McLearn, never officially joined the Seventh-day Adventist Church.
  2. Edward Sutherland owned a boat and enjoyed the St. Joseph River. He went on to found two other Adventist colleges.
  3. Nelson Kauble was famous for his prize-winning chickens.
  4. Otto Graf completely cleared the college of debt during his presidency.
  5. Frederick Griggs sang "It's Raining Violets" for chapel every spring.
  6. Guy Wolfkill lost his left hand in a buzz-saw accident.
  7. Thomas Steen was the first EMC alum to become president of the school.
  8. Lynn Wood had his degree in architectural engineering from the University of Michigan.
  9. While he was president, Klooster took French lessons from Dan Augsburger at 6 a.m.
  10. The students nicknamed Floyd Rittenhouse "Scribbleshack."
  11. Niels-Erik Andreasen is the first president of international birth.
  12. Andrea Luxton is the first female president.

Former Presidents

Battle Creek College 1874-1901
Sidney Brownsberger 1874-1881
Alexander McLearn 1881-1882
Wilcott H. Littlejohn 1883-1885
William W. Prescott 1885-1894
George W. Caviness 1894-1897
Edward A. Sutherland 1897-1901

Emmanuel Missionary College, 1901-1959
Edward A. Sutherland 1901-1904
Nelson W. Kauble 1904-1908
Otto J. Graf 1908-1917
Clement L. Benson 1917-1918
Frederick Griggs 1918-1924
Guy F. Wolfkill 1924-1930
Lynn H. Wood 1930-1934
Thomas W. Steen 1934-1937
Henry J. Klooster 1937-1943
Alvin W. Johnson 1943-1950
Percy W. Christian 1950-1955
Floyd O. Rittenhouse 1955-1960

Seventh-day Adventist Theological Seminary, 1937–1957
Milton E. Kern 1937–1943
Denton E. Rebok 1943–1951
V. E. Hendershot 1951–1952
Ernest D. Dick 1952–1957

Potomac University, 1957–1960
Ernest D. Dick 1957–1959
Floyd O. Rittenhouse 1959–1960

Andrews University, 1960–
Floyd O. Rittenhouse 1960–1963
Richard Hammill 1963–1976
Joseph G. Smoot 1976–1983
W. Richard Lesher 1984–1994
Niels-Erik A. Andreasen 1994–2016
Andrea T. Luxton 2016–