Wind Symphony Spring Concert

   Howard Performing Arts Center
   Sun, April 23, 2017 @ 04:00 pm - 06:00 pm
    Howard Performing Arts Center

The Andrews University Wind Symphony will present their annual spring concert on Sunday, April 23, at 4 p.m. in the Howard Performing Arts Center. This will be the last concert directed by Alan Mitchell; after directing the ensemble for nearly three decades, Mitchell will enter retirement this summer.

The Wind Symphony will perform “Fanfare for the Common Man” by Aaron Copland, “Overture to Candide” by Leonard Bernstein, “Irish Tune from County Derry” by Percy Granger, “Gallant Service March” by Dwayne Milburn, “Purple Carnival March” by Harry Alford, “Dreams of a Psychopath” by Michael Francis, “Elsa’s Procession to the Cathedral” by Richard Wagner, “Down the Lonely Path” by Brett Abigana and “Beyond the Horizon” by Rossano Galante. 

The program will also feature two soloists. Alan Mitchell will be featured on trombone performing “Atlantic Zephrs” by Gardell Simons, directed by guest conductor Jonathon Korzun. Lara Turner will be featured on cello performing “Concerto for Cello and Wind Orchestra” by Friedrich Gulda.

General admission $6; students and seniors $4; children under 12 are free. For tickets, visit or call the Box Office at 269-471-3560.

Related Website(s):

   Howard Performing Arts Center