Employee Awards Night 2020

| Posted on June 12, 2020

Awards Night 2020 was held Sunday, March 1, in the Howard Performing Arts Center. Employees of Andrews University gathered to celebrate each other’s accomplishments and enjoy time together. As guests entered the Howard Lobby, an ice sculpture of a Cardinal demonstrated the evening's theme: Golden Cardinal Awards. After an hour of food and fellowship, attendees moved to the auditorium. 

The program began with a warm welcome by President Andrea Luxton. Ryan Hayes, professor of chemistry, and his wife Suzi set a light tone for the evening as they introduced each of the six Golden Cardinal Awards throughout the program. These "fun and fake" awards were purely for entertainment purposes. To view the entries, click on the title links below:

Golden Cardinal I: Best RegaliaWinner: Sonia Badenas, assistant professor of French, Department of International Languages & Global Studies
Golden Cardinal II: Best Office Fit BreakWinner: GIA/CEIS team
Golden Cardinal III: Best Employee on a SkateboardWinner: Melissa Bolle, catering manager, Dining Services
Golden Cardinal IV: Best Southern AccentWinner: Andrea Luxton/Cody Harmon, president/Seminary student
Golden Cardinal V: Best Sam’s Chicken Dipping SauceWinner: Carlisle Sutton, director, Office of Community Engagement Integration & Service
Golden Cardinal VI: Best Climate World ChangerWinner: Angela Sonnenberg, administrative assistant, Department of Biology

At the conclusion of the night, Artur Stele, board chair and General Conference vice president, expressed his appreciation for the people of Andrews, closing the evening with a prayer of blessing.

The following faculty and staff were honored for their years of service to Andrews University as well as for excellence in service, teaching, research, faith development and wellness.

Click on individual names below to view the video tributes presented:

25 Years of Service
Erich Baumgartner, professor of leadership and intercultural communication, Department of Leadership
Roy Gane, professor of Hebrew Bible and Ancient Near Eastern languages, Department of Old Testament
Tom Goodwin, professor of paleobiology, Department of Biology
William Greenley, assistant professor of computer information systems, Department of Computing
Dan Hamstra, director, Office of Telecommunications
Elizabeth Oakley, associate professor of physical therapy, School of Rehabilitation Sciences
Sara Snider, housekeeper, Meier Hall—retired
Emma Tenorio, housekeeping supervisor, Meier Hall

30 Years of Service
Mickey Kutzner, professor of physics, Department of Physics
Arlen Springer, power plant foreman, Office of Plant Services
Curtis VanderWaal, chair/professor of social work, School of Social Work
Bill Wolfer, chair/assistant professor of computer science, Department of Computing

35 Years of Service
Lorena Bidwell, chief information officer, Information Technology Services
Lois Grimm, administrative assistant, Office of Transportation
Jim Massena, director, Office of Institutional Research

40 Years of Service
Richard Davidson, J.N. Andrews professor of Old Testament interpretation, Department of Old Testament
Norma Greenidge, bibliographic services & periodicals head, James White Library
Margarita Mattingly, chair/professor of physics, Department of Physics
Donald May, assistant provost for undergraduate initiatives & Andrews Core Experience (ACE)—retired
Rebecca May, campus & community relations director, Office of University Communication—retired
Donald Smith, groundskeeper, Office of Arboretum/Grounds
Dianne Wilson, operations manager, Dining Services

45 Years of Service
Bonnie Beres, administrative assistant, Department of Christian Ministry
Ronald Neumann, telephone support, Office of Telecommunications

Daniel A. Augsburger Excellence in Teaching Awards
Oliver Glanz, associate professor of Old Testament, Department of Old Testament
Desrene Vernon-Brebnor, assistant professor of communication, Department of Visual Art, Communication & Design

Siegfried H. Horn Awards for Excellence in Research & Creative Scholarship
S. Joseph Kidder, professor of Christian ministry, Department of Christian Ministry
Gustavo Gregorutti, professor of leadership and higher education, Department of Leadership

Excellence in Service Awards
Maxwell Jardine, HVAC foreman/master electrician, Office of Plant Services—retired
Ada Mendez, associate dean’s secretary, Deans’ Office, Seventh-day Adventist Theological Seminary—retired
Lynn Merklin, assistant provost/director, Office of Institutional Effectiveness

Faith Development Leadership Award
Adriana Perera-Larrarte, chair/associate professor of music, Department of Music

Wellness Champion Award
Deby Andvik, assistant to the dean, College of Health & Human Services