Campus-wide open house
Sabbath afternoon activities
AgendaItâs impossible to see all there is to see at Andrews University in one afternoonâor even a weekend! But we welcome you to enjoy some of the campus highlights opened just for you this afternoon. For a campus map, please visit www.andrews.edu/about/visiting/campus_map.html.
Sat, April 5 @ 03:00 pm - 06:00 pm
Sat, April 5 @ 03:00 pm - 06:00 pm
Andrews University campus
â¢ Get a close-up view of Godâs elegant creation through the Electron Scanning Microscope.
â¢ The Natural History Museum includes extensive collections from the natural world, including the skeleton of a wooly mammoth found right here in Michigan.
â¢ Planet Earth video series â Biology Amphitheater, 2:30 and 4 p.m. The BBC series, first released in 2007, is described as "there has never been a nature or wildlife series as breathtaking as Planet Earth." Come enjoy the "Mountains" segment in high definition.
School of Architecture â See fascinating work in progress through the displays of the mission-oriented projects in Bolivia, the trip to the Waldensian Valley, and the award-winning projects designed to improve community life in economically depressed areas.
Center for Adventist Research features the original trunk used by J.N. Andrews on his historic mission trip and a desk made by Uriah Smith in its collection. Most importantly, the Center for Adventist Research house a leading documentary collection for the study of the Seventh-day Adventist Church, its predecessors and related groups, from the Millerite movement of the mid-nineteenth century to the present. The center holds publications in all formats on all aspects of the Seventh-day Adventist Churchâits mission, theology and activitiesâincluding those from official and unofficial sources. The center serves as a branch office of the Ellen G. White Estate, the rare material repository for the James White Library and as the University Archives and Records Center.
The Andrews Farm and Dairy has been a vital part of our campus since 1901. We are the only college in North America to still operate a farm. Visitors always find it amusing to see the calves, and the older part of the herd who consistently take awards for high milk production and high butter-fat content. The new milking parlor under construction is thanks to the generosity of Bill Colson and his family.
Seminary Scholarship Symposiumâ In 2006, the seminary instituted an annual Seminary Scholarship Symposium to highlight an exchange of ideas and inspire further scholarship among the faculty, masterâs students and doctoral students. The academic posters from this yearâs symposium will be on display in the Seminary Commons and youâre invited to stop by.
The Horn Archaeological Museum features over 8,500 ancient Near-Eastern artifacts, including coins, pottery, sculptures, tools, weapons, figurines, jewelry, seals and glass vessels. The museum collection houses over 3,000 ancient cuneiform tablets from Sumerian through Neo-Babylonian times, as well as a bone ossuary from the time of Jesus. The museum has procured a Bedouin tent, made especially for the museum, which is also on display. A shuttle will run regularly between the PMC traffic circle and the museum.
Campus History Walking Tours â led by Meredith Jones Gray. You will hear the inspirational story of the move from Battle Creek to Berrien Springs, and walk the row of trees planted by E.A. Sutherland. Youâre sure to be inspired with the stories of Godâs providential leading and sustaining in the development of Andrews University. Tours will depart from the J.N. Andrews sculpture at 3 and 4 pm.
Division Reception â 3 p.m.
Pan African Division, Haughey Hall, room #133 (The math/science building)
Sutherland House was built in 1902 for Edward A. Sutherland, the first president of Emanuel Missionary College (now Andrews University) and today houses Andrews University Press. The first structure built by this institution, this renovated and restored home honors Sutherlandâs memory as Adventismâs most influential and pioneering educational reformer. The main floor parlor features original period furniture from Battle Creek Sanitarium.