Seventh-day Adventist schools and day care centers in Berrien Springs include:
Crayon Box - campus day care for ages 2 weeks through 12 years old
Ruth Murdoch Elementary School - campus primary school, Kindergarten through Grade 8
Andrews Academy - campus secondary school, Grades 9-12
Village Adventist Elementary School - in town primary school, Kindergarten through Grade 8
The Berrien Public School System includes Mars Elementary (Pre-school - Grade 2), Sylvester Elementary (Grades 3-5), Berrien Springs Middle School (Grades 6-8), and Berrien Springs High School (Grades 9-13). Learn more here
Students in Grades 10-12 with GPAs above 3.0 may be eligible to enrich their high school experience with Andrews University classes at greatly discounted tuition. Get details from your school or the PreCollege website
Explore year round athletic programs that help children and parents build lasting friendships in the Greater Berrien Springs Recreation Department webpage.
It is important that you know the laws designed to protect children and family members in the United States. Violation of some laws may result in payment of a fine; others may result in arrest.
Car Safety Seats: Michigan law requires that anyone riding in a moving vehicle must be wearing a seat belt. Children younger than age 4 must ride in seat meeting requirements for their age, in the rear seat if the vehicle has a rear seat. If all available rear seats are occupied by children under 4, then a child under 4 may ride in a car seat in the front seat. A child in a rear-facing car seat may only ride in the front seat if the airbag is turned off. Children must be properly buckled in a car seat or booster seat until they are 8 years old or 4-feet-9-inches tall. Children must ride in a seat until they reach the age requirement or the height requirement, whichever comes first.
Child Abuse: Child abuse is a very serious crime in the United States. Teachers and care givers are required by law to report any suspected cases of child abuse. This includes corporal punishment, emotional, physical or sexual abuse, and neglect.
Domestic Violence: Of course, it's illegal to commit an assault, battery, or criminal threat against anyone. But if the alleged victim is your fiancé, spouse, cohabitant, dating partner, or the parent of your child, Michigan domestic violence laws make the allegation much more serious. Learn more on the Michigan State Policy Domestic Violence Awareness webpage.
Personal Protection Orders: Michigan law provides protection to persons who have a domestic relationship, or those who are being harassed or stalked by another person, by allowing them to seek a personal protection order. Learn more on the Berrien county webpage.
Thrift shop stores: Neighbor To Neighbor (Berrien Springs), Goodwill (Niles), Goodwill (Benton Harbor).
Explore other important family topics in the Michigan Department of Health & Human Services webpage.
Find legal assistance whenever you need it in the State Bar of Michigan webpage.