Research News

These stories represent highlights of research and creative scholarship at Andrews University. For a more comprehensive list of campus-wide research activities, please explore the portions of this Research website dedicated to events, faculty research, and student research.

Jan. 22, 2018. Charles Reid, Associate Professor of Voice, has released a recording of Alexander von Zemlinsky's "A Florentine Tragedy." The recording features the ORF Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra. Access Here



Jan. 11, 2018. Desmond Murray is a co-editor of The Power and Promise of Early Research, which has now been published in hard copy by the Oxford University Press. The book draws on Dr. Murray's rich history of incorporating early research into his high school and university classes. Access Here




Jan. 8, 2018. Oystein LaBianca, professor of anthropology, was recently highlighted in a Jordan Times article on community archaeology (Saeb Rawashdeh, "Norwegian scholar draws parallel between archaeological sites and botanical gardens," January 7, 2018; Photo courtesy of David Kennedy, APAAME). Read Here

Nov. 29, 2017. Tiffany Summerscales was featured on the Andrews Speaks podcast. She shared about her research on gravitational waves and the siginificance of the LIGO team's Nobel Prize in Physics. Listen Here


Oct. 4, 2017. Andrews University is excited to announce and congratulate our colleague, Tiffany Summerscales, professor of physics, for her part in the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory(LIGO) Scientific Collaboration recognized today with a Nobel Prize in Physics for its discoveries of gravitational waves. Three of that project’s leaders, Rainer Weiss of Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Kip Thorne and Barry C Barish, both of Caltech, are the specific named recipients of today’s Nobel Prize. In announcing the award, the Royal Swedish Academy called it “a discovery that shook the world.” More Information

Nov. 22, 2016. Four Andrews University students have received fellowships or grants from the American Schools of Oriental Research (ASOR)--Trisha Broy*, Member-Supported Fellowship; Anna Kim** and Jacob Moody*, Platt Fellowship; and Vivian Laughlin*, Student Travel Grant. Two students--Kristina Reed and Dawn Acevedo--from sister Adventist school La Sierra University also received support. *Graduate student  **Undergraduate student

NEWS ARCHIVE (Click for older news stories)