AU Wind Symphony: The Hounds of Spring

   Howard Performing Arts Center
   Sat, April 24, 2021 @ 08:30 pm - 10:00 pm
    Howard Performing Arts Center

Livestream Link:

Limited FREE tickets available to Andrews University music majors and minors, the Enjoyment of Music class, current Andrews University students and current Andrews University staff. You can pick up your ticket at the Howard Center office.

Spring has come early this year to Michiana, and we invite you to join us for the Wind Symphony Spring Concert! Th program is entitled “The Hounds of Spring”, and will feature a number of classic works for band, including the titular The Hounds of Spring by Alfred Reed, Gustav Holst’s Second Suite in F, transcriptions of Down a Country Lane by Aaron Copland and Festive Overture by Dmitri Shostakovich, and The Cowboys by John Williams. The concert will also showcase both the conducting and clarinet soloing talents of music performance major Jason Marquez, as he conducts Jubilate March by Filipino composer Lucio San Pedro and performs the clarinet solo Concert Fantasia on Motives from Verdi’s Opera “Rigoletto” by Luigi Bassi. 



  1. The Hounds of Spring (Alfred Reed)  
  2. Concert Fantasia on Motives from Verdi’s “Rigoletto” (Luigi Bassi) 
  3. Second Suite in F (Gustav Holst) 


  1. Festive Overture (Dmitri Shostakovich) 
  2. Down a Country Lane (Aaron Copland)   
  3. Jubilate (Lucio San Pedro)  
  4. The Cowboys (John Williams) 


Wind Symphony

Conductor: Byron Graves

The Andrews University Wind Symphony maintains a significant travel schedule throughout the Great Lakes area and seeks to provide high quality music programs and concerts representative of Adventist education and Andrews University. The Wind Symphony has performed in England, France, Spain, Germany, Austria, Italy, Switzerland, Canada and throughout the United States.

Related Website(s): Live-streamed

   Howard Performing Arts Center