AUSO Fall Concert "Divine"

   Howard Performing Arts Center
   Sat, October 16, 2021 @ 08:00 pm - 10:00 pm
    Howard Center

The Andrews University Symphony Orchestra is excited to present its first full concert of the new school year, one that will be open to more audience members than anything in the previous year. Audience members will be required to wear a mask in attendance, but there will be no limits on seating capacity, so we encourage all community members to join us in person for some gorgeous music-making, as there won’t be a livestream video option for viewing at home.

Orchestral music composed during the 19th century is commonly described as representing the “Romantic era,” with Romanticism being “characterized by its emphasis on emotion and individualism as well as glorification of all the past and nature.” In some composers’ works of the period, they sought to transcend the physical world with music that in some cases can be interpreted to possess divine qualities. Such Romantic inclinations can be observed in all of the music being performed by the AUSO on Oct. 16, including compositions by Anton Bruckner, Jean Sibelius and Sir Edward Elgar.

In recent years, the AUSO has welcomed guest composer and Adventist Maestro Herbert Blomstedt for guest lectures and rehearsals, with him sharing his international experiences and wisdom with our orchestra members. Maestro Blomstedt happens to be an enthusiast for the divine qualities of symphonies composed by Anton Bruckner and is often invited to conduct Bruckner’s music with such esteemed orchestras as the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra. Learning and performing Bruckner’s "Symphony No. 6" is a rare and unique opportunity for the AUSO and will probably be the first time that one of his grand symphonies will be heard in the Howard Performing Arts Center.

Prior to performing the Bruckner symphony in its entirety, before intermission the orchestra will perform two shorter works in Sibelius’ "Pohjola’s Daughter" and Elgar’s "Sospiri." "Pohjola’s Daughter" is a colorful piece that illustrates a story from historical Finnish folklore. A Finnish composer, Sibelius commonly turned to Finnish cultural history as he advocated for Finnish independence from the repressive Russian Empire. A more peaceful work, Elgar’s "Sospiri" translates to “Sighs” and features the orchestra’s string and harp musicians.



Jean Sibelius—"Pohjola’s Daughter"

Sir Edward Elgar—"Sospiri"

- Intermission -

Anton Bruckner—"Symphony No. 6 in A Major"

  • I—Majestoso
  • II—Adagio
  • III—Scherzo & Trio
  • IV—Finale


COVID-19 Safety Measures

All students, employees and visitors to campus will be required to wear masks in the public spaces inside Andrews University campus buildings regardless of vaccination status, effective Monday, Aug. 16, 2021, and currently through Sunday, Oct. 31, 2021.

We encourage you (our guests) to be vaccinated or have recently tested negative for COVID-19. Please self-screen for symptoms and exposures prior to attending a concert. You should not attend events if symptomatic or if you meet Health Department criteria for isolation or quarantine. 

The University is continually monitoring transmission data for the area as well as recommendations from both local and federal agencies. The University may alter mitigation protocols to address changes in risk. This could include requiring the wearing of masks/face coverings and up to canceling or postponing an event.

Related Website(s):

   Howard Performing Arts Center