General Licensure Disclosure

Andrews University is required to publicly disclose information regarding whether its various programs meet the educational requirements of a particular state for specific professional licensure or certification that may be required for employment in a specific occupation, in compliance with the U.S. Department of Education regulation, 34 CFR 668.43 (a) (5) (v). These disclosure requirements apply to all programs leading to licensure or certification, whether on campus, online, or hybrid.

Nursing clinicals are approved in each state/territory separately by the state board of nursing, where applicable. If you are in an approved state when you begin the program and are considering a move to another state before completion of your online program, it is your responsibility to notify the School of Nursing.

The following list indicates states where Andrews University currently meets/or does not meet a state’s requirements:

Meets the Requirements Does not meet the Requirements
Connecticut Alabama
Florida Alaska
Georgia Arizona
Hawaii Arkansas
Idaho California
Illinois Colarado
Indiana Delaware
Kentucky Iowa
Massachusets Louisiana
Michigan Kansas
Mississippi Maryland
Montana Minnesota
Nebraska Missouri
Nevada New Hampshire
New Jersey New York
New Mexico North Dakota
North Carolina Oklahoma
Ohio Oregon
Rhode Island Pennsylvania
South Carolina Tennessee
Virginia Texas
Vermont Utah
Washington, DC Washington
  West Virginia

If it has been determined that Andrews University does not currently meet the licensure requirements of your state board of nursing, it does not impact your education or your degree, but it may have serious licensing implications after graduation. If you have questions, please contact your state board of nursing for more information. Regulation of distance education for graduate nursing is always in flux and it is the student’s responsibility to always check with their state board of nursing for any updated guidelines or alternate interpretation of the guidelines prior to applying to Andrews University. 

Note: Andrews University is approved to participate in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (SARA) through which it may offer online education in 49 states (all except for California) and the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Separately, Andrews University has been granted an exemption to offer online education in California.