BS in MLS - 1st Degree

The Bachelor of Science in Medical Laboratory Science is a four-year degree program. The curriculum consists of three years of pre-clinical studies, followed by one year (3 semesters) of professional clinical education known as the Clinical Year Program.

Pre-clinical studies include 14 credits of medical laboratory science courses, 26 credits in required science cognate courses, and 37 credits in general education courses (refer to Undergraduate Curriculum & Timeline, Preclinical Studies).

The Clinical (Senior) Year consists of 47 credits. Twenty-four credits in lecture and student laboratories are taught on the Berrien Springs campus. The remainder 23 credits are earned through clinical practica at one of our affiliate hospitals or clinical laboratory sites located throughout the United States where students work side by side with practicing laboratory professionals in patient health care. In order to enter the final year of studies (Clinical Year), students must submit an application and be accepted into the Clinical Year Program. See Admission and Applications.

For an overview of the curriculum and the structure of the BSMLS degree refer to Undergraduate Curriculum and Timeline.