Academic Honors Societies

Academic Honor Society Chapters

The History and Political Science Department (HPSC) is proud to hold chapters of two national honor societies, Phi Alpha Theta and Pi Sigma Alpha.


Phi Alpha Theta is the National History Honor Society. Phi Alpha Theta (ΦΑΘ) is for undergraduate and graduate students and professors of history. It was established in 1921 at the University of Arkansas. The society has over 350,000 members, with about 9,500 new members joining each year through 860 local chapters. Our department's chapter, Omicron Lambda, was established in 1969.

Pi Sigma Alpha is the National Political Science Honor Society. Pi Sigma Alpha (ΠΣΑ) is the only honor society for college and university students of political science in the United States and hosts over 700 local chapters. Its purpose is to recognize and promote high academic achievement in the field of political science. The society was established in 1920 at the University of Texas at Austin. Our department's chapter, Alpha Epsilon Iota, was established in 2008.