Special Honors & Awards

Each fall, the Council on University Honors & Awards considers nominations for honorary degrees to be conferred at a future graduation service. Andrews University will confer the following honorary doctoral degrees:

  • Doctor of Divinity (DD)  For distinguished church leadership in administration, writing, or preaching that reflects an influence of unusual merit at the national or international level.
  • Doctor of Fine Arts (DFA)  For creative, original contributions in the fields of architecture, design, painting, sculpture, and related fields.
  • Doctor of Humane Letters (LHD)  For scholarly achievement in writing in the liberal arts and humanities and also for unusual service to society.
  • Doctor of Laws (LLD)  For distinguished leadership in administration and public service in business, education, finance, government, and public life.
  • Doctor of Literature (LittD)  For a significant body of creative literature.
  • Doctor of Music (MusD)  For composition, theory, or music performance of rare and lasting importance.
  • Doctor of Pedagogy (PedD)  For service in education especially as an honored teacher.
  • Doctor of Science (ScD.)  For demonstrated investigative achievement in the natural or physical science or major contributions to medical science.

The criteria can be read here and a complete list of recipients here.

Recent Honorary Degree Recipients

Spring 2023
  - Daniel Richard Jackson
  - Juan R. Prestol-Puesán
  - Monte C. Sahlin
Summer 2022
  - Surangel S. Whipps, Jr.
Spring 2022
  - Nina R. Atcheson
  - Roger H. Pak
Spring 2021
  - Wintley A. Phipps
Spring 2019
  - David K. Maraga
  - Marianne L. Thieme
Summer 2019
  - Erland Pettman

John Nevins Andrews Medallion 

The Council also considers nominations from among its faculty for the John Nevins Andrews Medallion for Teaching Excellence. This surprise award is presented to a faculty member at a graduation service. You can read the criteria here, and see a complete list of John Nevins Andrews Medallion recipients here.  

Spring 2023
  - Ronald D. Coffen
  - Janet Ledesma
  - Andrea Luxton
Spring 2022
  - Denis Fortin
  - Anneris Coria-Navia
  - Katherine Koudele
Spring 2019
  - Teresa Reeve
  - Alayne Thorpe
Summer 2019
  - Jimmy Kijai
  - James J. North Jr.