Siegfried H. Horn Award

In honor of Siegfried H. Horn’s legacy of scholarship and contribution to the field of Biblical Archaeology at Andrews University, and his impact upon the world church and the wider community of scholars, this award has been established to recognize lifetime scholarship achievement of Andrews University faculty members.

Recipients of the award must hold the rank of Associate Professor or Full Professor, and have been full-time employees at Andrews University for a minimum of 5 years. The award recognizes lifetime achievement in research and creative scholarship for Andrews University faculty members; faculty may win the award only once.  The Dean of Research identifies eligible faculty members who have produced substantial scholarly contributions over the previous five years at Andrews University, and the members of the Scholarly Research Council vote on final recipients. 

Click here to learn more about Siegfried Horn.

Siegfried H. Horn Excellence in Research and Creative Scholarship Award Recipients

Click on the names below to read the individual citations.


  2024 RECIPIENTS Pictured left to right:

  Felix H. Cortez (New Testament)
  Shannon Trecartin (Social Work) 

 2023 RECIPIENTS Pictured left to right:

  Oliver Glanz (Old Testament)



  2022 RECIPIENTS Pictured left to right:

  Petr Činčala (World Mission) 
  Jay Johnson (Engineering & Physics) 



 2021 RECIPIENTS Pictured left to right:

 Chi Yong Yun (Music)
 Anneris Coria-Navia (Teaching, Learning & Curriculum)



2020 RECIPIENTS Pictured left to right:

S. Joseph Kidder (Christian Ministry)
Gustavo Gregorutti (Leadership)




2019 RECIPIENTS Pictured left to right:

Harvey J. Burnett, Jr.  (Behavioral Sciences)
John C. Peckham (Theology & Christian Philosophy)



2018 RECIPIENTS Pictured left to right:

Charles Reid (Music)
Stanley E. Patterson (Christian Ministry)



2017 RECIPIENTS Pictured left to right:

Denis J. H. Fortin (Religion & Theology)
Tiffany Z. K. Summerscales (Pure & Applied Sciences)
Herbert W. Helm, Jr. (Arts, Humanities and Education)
Kathleen M. Demsky, not pictuted (Professional Programs)


2016 RECIPIENTS Pictured left to right:

Annetta M. Gibson (Professional Programs)
Karl G. D. Bailey (Pure & Applied Sciences)
P. Richard Choi (Religion & Theology)
Stephen P. Zork (Arts, Humanities & Education)


2015 RECIPIENTS Pictured left to right:

James L. Hayward (Pure & Applied Sciences)
Andrew von Maur (Professional Programs)
Carla L. Trynchuk (Arts, Humanities & Education)
Wagner Kuhn, not pictured (Religion & Theology)


2014 RECIPIENTS Pictured left to right:

Gary W. Burdick (Pure & Applied Sciences)
Marcia A. Kilsby (Professional Programs)
Greg J. Constantine (Arts, Humanities & Education)
Roy E. Gane (Religion & Theology)

2013 RECIPIENTS Pictured left to right:

Øystein S. LaBianca (Pure & Applied Sciences)
Fernando L. Canale (Religion & Theology)
Winston J. Craig (Professional Programs)
Tevni E. Grajales Guerra (Arts, Humanities & Education)


2012 RECIPIENTS Pictured left to right:

Duane C. McBride (Pure & Applied Sciences)
Curt J. VanderWaal (Professional Programs)
Jiří Moskala (Religion and Theology)
Steve L. Hansen (Arts, Humanities & Education)

2011 RECIPIENTS Pictured left to right:

Shandelle M. Henson (Sciences and Mathematics)
Karen A. Allen (Professions)
Larry D. Burton (Arts & Humanities) 
Richard M. Davidson, not pictured (Religion and Theology)